A- A A+

Women’s Hall of Fame

2020 marks 30 years of exceptional women being honored at our Women’s Hall of Fame! 186 Stark County women and remarkable teens have been honored for their contributions to their family, workplace and community and displayed a dedication to our mission.

Join us on Wednesday, May 2020 to celebrate this milestone Women’s Hall of Fame at the Kent State University at Stark Conference Center. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. and dinner will be served at 6 p.m.

Dr. Rosemarie Allen will be the Keynote Speaker at this year’s Women’s Hall of Fame, sponsored by PNC Financial Services Group. Dr. Allen’s life work is centered on ensuring children have access to high quality early childhood programs that are developmentally and culturally appropriate. She has served as a leader in early childhood education for nearly 40 years.  Dr. Allen is also the President & CEO for the Institute for Racial Equity & Excellence.

To mark this celebratory 30th year, we will be introducing our Women of Empowerment- Lifetime Achievement Award. This award will honor two of our past inductees who were selected by our nominations panel for their compassion and leadership which set a standard for lifetime commitment by supporting the YWCA mission through their volunteerism or work and to the welfare of Stark County and its residents.

It is our honor and pleasure to announce our 2020 Women of Empowerment Lifetime Achievement Award recipients:

  • *Diane Stevens Robinson, President/CEO of the Greater Stark County Urban League, Women’s Hall of Fame Class of 1993
  • *Janet Weir Creighton, Board of Stark County Commissioner, Women’s Hall of Fame Class of 2007

Congratulations to our Class of 2020 Inductees!

  • Linda DeHoff, President, DeHoff Realtors
  • *Sr. Karen Lindenberger, Hispanic Minister, St. Anthony/All Saints Parish
  • *Jennifer Meek Eells, Executive Director, Stark Tuscarawas Workforce Development Board
  • *Patricia Hopkins Williams, Active Community Member, Retired from TimkenSteel 
  • *Lauren Winland, Teen Inductee
*Full bios below



Purchase Tickets to Attend

2020 Women of Empowerment: Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Class of 2020

Dr. Rosemarie Allen

Rosemarie Allen has served as a leader in early childhood education for nearly 40 years. Her life’s work is centered on ensuring children have access to high quality early childhood programs that are developmentally and culturally appropriate. She is currently an Associate Professor in the School of Education at Metropolitan State University of Denver. Her classes are focused on ensuring teachers are aware of how issues of equity, privilege, and power impact teaching practices. Rosemarie has served in directorship roles with the Colorado Department of Human Services where she was responsible for the State’s child care licensing program, the federal child care assistance program, the redesign of the State’s quality rating and improvement system, the implementation of the State’s professional development plan, and assisted in the creation of Colorado’s early learning guidelines. Rosemarie is a respected keynote speaker, and has the distinct honor of being appointed as a “Global Leader” to represent the United States at World Conferences across the globe.

Dr. Allen’s non-profit Institute for Racial Equity & Excellence (IREE) serves as the lead agency for ensuring equity in educational practices throughout the nation. IREE monitors and licenses child care centers using a model she created, “Culturally Responsive Community Based Licensing”. Rosemarie also served on President Obama’s “My Brother’s Keeper” (MBK) initiative, Early Childhood Task Force. In that role, she was the national expert on implicit bias and culturally responsive practices, speaking at conferences across the country. She also serves as contractor for the National Center for Pyramid Model Innovations focusing on equity, implicit bias and culturally responsive practices in the Pyramid Model for Supporting Social Emotional Competence in Infants and Young Children.

Rosemarie earned her B. A. from California State University, Master’s of Education from Lesley University and Doctorate Degree in Leadership for Equity in Education from the University of Colorado, Denver.

Event Schedule:

  • Doors Open at 5:30 p.m.
  • Dinner buffet opens at 6 p.m.
  • Keynote Speaker, Dr. Rosemarie Allen, 6:45 p.m.
  • Class of 2020 presented at 7:15 p.m.
  • Women of Empowerment Lifetime Achievement Awards presented at 8 p.m.

Thank you to our sponsors and supporters:

Sponsorships are available, download the Sponsorship Brochure or contact Autaum Kendle for more information. 

Keynote Speaker Sponsor:

PNC Financial Services Group

Dinner Celebration Sponsor:

The Canton Repository

Video Sponsor:

Community Christian Church